Maine Restricted License
Under Maine Law, 29-A M.R.S. § 1602, the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles has the legal authority to issue a restricted license, in cases where the Secretary determines that a license suspension imposes an extreme hardship and there is no other practical alternative to alleviate the hardship, such as public transportation. As in Massachusetts, a hardship license in Maine can only be issued if there is a determination made that granting the license will not endanger public safety. Pursuant to Maine Law, 29-A M.R.S. § 1605 , proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) may be required, as condition of licensure.
For work-restricted licenses, the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires that your employer sign your restricted license petition and you must certify that the information which you provide is true and accurate. Making false statements for a Maine restricted license is a crime.
Like the Massachusetts DMV, the Maine BMV requires that restricted license applicants who are self-employed provide acceptable proof of self-employment, in the form of official documents or advertising materials.
29-A M.R.S. § 2501 sets forth the requirements for a Maine DUI hardship license. It requires that 2/3 of the suspension has been served and the alcohol program has been completed. It also allows for restrictions such as use of the license only for work or alcohol treatment.
In accordance with 29-A M.R.S. § 2502, first DUI offenders in Maine can be issued a hardship license after completing at least 3 drug & alcohol treatment sessions. These licenses are available for violations of the breathalyzer refusal law, failing a breath test, and for being under 21 years of age and driving with any alcohol in the system.
29-A M.R.S. § 2503 governs Maine work-restricted licenses during administrative license suspension (ALS) periods. These licenses allow for driving to and from work and an educational institution for first offenders. As always, there can be no alternative means of transportation available and it must be for a first offense DUI or a 2nd offense where at least a 10 year period separates convictions.
29-A M.R.S. § 2501 allows for the issuance of a hardship license upon successful completion of alcohol and drug program approved by the Office of Substance Abuse, where granting such a license would not endanger the public. A temporary restricted license is also available if the DUI offender needs to drive to and from an alcohol treatment or educational program.
Hardship relief in Maine is not available if you are a repeat DUI offender and your second DUI occurred within 10 years from first. This is an example where Maine is more stringent than Massachusetts.
Under 29-A M.R.S. § 2556, Maine Habitual Traffic Offenders can be considered for work restricted licenses after serving 18 months of the HTO revocation. However, the conviction of any new offenses will result in the revocation of the work license and disqualify the habitual traffic offender from any further relief.
Download a Maine Restricted License Application (PDF) here. If you have questions regarding how to obtain a work-restricted license in Maine, you can call the BMV at (207) 624-9000 x 52104.